Fall Favourites ’18

The temperature’s dropping and the nights are drawing in. I don’t want to be the bearer of bad news but Summer is l o n g gone.

Don’t lose hope just yet! Autumn’s no Summer – but it certainly has its perks. Yes, I think we’d all much rather be lying on a hot sunny beach, piña colada in hand. But if I’m snug as a bug in a blanket with a hot chocolate you won’t be hearing any complaints from me.

To welcome in this new season and all the joy and hot beverages it brings, here are some of my favourite books to cosy up with this Fall…

 

fall-gif

 

The Princess Saves Herself in This One – Amanda Lovelace

the princess saves herself in this one by [Lovelace, Amanda, ladybookmad]A poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.

the princess saves herself in this one is the first book in the “women are some kind of magic” series.

 

A collection of poetry like this is always a winner for me and so easy to dip in and out of. Lovelace’s women are some kind of magic series in particular is a favourite of mine as she, on the one hand, writes so authentically about her own strength and girl power as a whole that you feel like you can walk on water and change the world, and then on the other she can bring you crashing down, writing candidly about some of her worst experiences. But with a trigger warning list that’s 16+ items long you know you’re in for a bumpy ride.

* * *

On The Other Side – Carrie Hope Fletcher

Image result for on the other side carrie hope fletcherEvie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won’t open.

Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, she may also find her way back to the only man she ever truly loved . . .

 

I haven’t started this book yet but if Carrie writes like she speaks, I’m in for a kind and cosy read – as anyone already following her YouTube channel can attest. I’ve heard great things about Carrie’s number one bestseller and can’t wait to get stuck in to this cosy romance.

* * *

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

Image result for jane eyre whsmith yellow

Jane comes from nothing but she desires everything life can offer her. And when she finds work as a governess in a mysterious mansion, it seems she has finally met her match with the darkly fascinating Mr Rochester. But Thornfield Hall contains a shameful secret – one that could keep Jane and Rochester apart forever. Can she choose between what is right, and her one chance of happiness?

 

I hope you’re all sat down when I tell you… I haven’t read Jane Eyre. I know I know! Classic literature fans, please don’t hate me. I will get round to it I s w e a r. And I think Fall is the perfect time to wrap up and dive in to this English classic.

* * *

One Day – David Nicholls

‘I can imagine you at forty,’ she said, a hint of malice in her voice. ‘I can picture it right now.’
He smiled without opening his eyes. ‘Go on then.’

15th July 1988. Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways.
So where will they be on this one day next year?
And the year after that? And every year that follows?

 

Autumn is made for romance. When it comes to books that is. And One Day is one of my favourite romance novels of all time. Nicholls creates real, flawed characters that you can hate and love at the same time and keeps you rooting for Emma and Dexter until the end. If you haven’t got round to reading One Day yet, now is the time. Grab a blanket and prepare to cry.

* * *

 

If anyone needs me, you now know where to find me: in a blanket fort surrounded by pumpkin spice scented candles, hot beverage in one hand, one of these beauties in the other.

What are some of your favourite books to cosy up with? Let me know in the comments or DM me on Instagram – I can always use your recommendations!

Thanks for reading,

Helen x
IG: pagesandeverything

Leave a comment